Through its Swing for Scholars program, the Eastern Ohio Chapter has annually awarded scholarships to students from the area attending architectural programs throughout the country. 

In 2014, AIA Eastern Ohio announced two scholarships at the AIA Ohio Convention at Kent State University.  The recipients, both students at Kent State were selected from an outstanding list of applicants.  

AIA Eastern Ohio board member John DeFrance AIA joins scholarship recipient Alexander Scott ($1000) and Anjanette Barrick ($2000), along with Golf Outing Chair Mike Fagan AIA and board member Doug Abbatiello AIA at the AIA Ohio Convention at Kent State University to present the AIA EOC Scholarships. The money to support the scholarships were raised through member and sponsor support of the AIA Eastern Ohio Swing for Scholars Golf Outing.